Emperors and Fools

Available Everywhere

Ashes of Ares

Matt Barlow – Vocals

Freddie Vidales – Guitars, Bass

Formed in 2012, by former Iced Earth members Matt Barlow and Freddie Vidales, along with former Nevermore drummer Van Williams, Ashes of Ares came together with the drive to create a sound which is a true collaboration of their personal influences, ideas and visions.  Their self-titled debut album was released in 2013, and they were soon after entertaining audiences with live performances in the USA and Europe.  After the departure of Van Williams in 2017, Matt and Freddie have continued with their original vision, of creating a sound on their own terms, and sharing it with a world-wide base of fans.

Lastest News

Thank you Bulgaria, Greece and Cyprus!!! We can’t wait to come back!

Apr 22, 2024

Read More

“Emperors and Fools” – our third album, to be released January 21, 2022

Oct 27, 2021

From ROAR – Rock of Angels Records Legendary Heavy Metal duo Ashes of Ares announces the release of their third studio album “Emperors and Fools”!…

Read More

New EP “Throne of Iniquity” to be released December 18, 2020

Nov 24, 2020

We are happy to announce the release date of our EP, “Throne of Iniquity”. We have been keeping busy and wanted to give you a…

Read More

Tour Dates

No upcoming events...


Ashes of Ares

Well of Souls

Emperors And Fools

Throne of Iniquity - Single

Lastest Video