Thank you Bulgaria, Greece and Cyprus!!! We can’t wait to come back!

Apr 22, 2024

Thessaloniki, Greece

Larissa, Greece

“Emperors and Fools” – our third album, to be released January 21, 2022

Oct 27, 2021

From ROAR – Rock of Angels Records

Legendary Heavy Metal duo Ashes of Ares announces the release of their third studio album “Emperors and Fools”!
Nine years after forming Ashes of Ares, Matt Barlow and Freddie Vidales return with their third full-length album “Emperors and Fools”. This album sees the duo take the darkness and aggression from their previous album “Well of Souls” to a higher echelon. The writing process began almost immediately after “Well of Souls” was released. As usual, it was a true collaborative effort between the two, with ideas originating from one or the other, then evolving and being refined to what is presented on “Emperors and Fools.” The album flow is designed to keep the listeners on edge while bringing them from fast, heavy, pounding anthems to somber, melancholic, emotional pieces. The album ends with the eleven-minute long epic “Monster’s Lament” which features the long-imagined joining of forces between Matt Barlow and Tim Ripper Owens.
“Emperors and Fools” will be released on January 21, 2022 as digipak CD, limited Turquoise/Black Splatter Vinyl (300 copies worldwide), limited Red/Black Splatter Vinyl (300 copies worldwide) and digital streaming and download format.
• Produced by Ashes of Ares
• Mixed and mastered by Byron Filson at Villain Recording, Phoenix, Arizona
• Drums recorded by Ed Warrin of LCS Productions
• Artwork by Kamil Pietruczynik
1. A City in Decay (Intro)
2. I Am the Night
3. Our Last Sunrise
4. Primed
5. Where God Fears to Go
6. Emperors and Fools
7. By My Blade
8. What Tomorrow Will Bring
9. The Iron Throne
10. Gone
11. Throne of Iniquity (CD Exclusive Track)
12. Monster’s Lament
Ashes Of Ares:
Matt Barlow – Vocals
Freddie Vidales – Guitars, Bass
Drums on all tracks by Van Williams
Keyboard intro composed by Jonah Weingarten
1st solo “The Iron Throne” by Wiley Arnett of Sacred Reich
2nd solo “The Iron Throne” by Charlie Mark
2nd solo “Monster’s Lament” by Bill Hudson
Guest vocals “Monster’s Lament” by Tim Ripper Owens
Keyboards “Monster’s Lament” by Brian Trainor

New EP “Throne of Iniquity” to be released December 18, 2020

Nov 24, 2020

We are happy to announce the release date of our EP, “Throne of Iniquity”. We have been keeping busy and wanted to give you a little taste of what’s to come. Get your hands on one of these limited edition vinyls. Thank you to ROAR – Rock of Angels Records for putting this together. Also thank you to Kyle Taylor, Ray Hunter of Bastion’s Wake, Kamil Pietruczynik, and Villain Recording for getting your hands dirty with us. See below for ordering information:
US Heavy/Power metal legends Ashes of Ares announce the release of their new special EP “Throne Of Iniquity”, out on December 18, 2020!
On December 18, 2020, the legendary Heavy Metal duo of Matt Barlow and Freddie Vidales will release their super limited on 300 copies, handcrafted 12” black vinyl EP “Throne of Iniquity” that comes with the brand new Ashes Of Ares song “Throne Of Iniquity” and two cover tracks, Chicago’s “25 or 6 to 4” and “Dust In The Wind” by Kansas. For the recordings, the duo was reinforced by Kyle Taylor on drums and Ray Hunter of Bastion’s Wake who plays the acoustic guitar on “Dust In The Wind”. This EP will be also available as digital stream/download and is the forerunner of the band’s third full-length album that will follow later in 2021!
“Freddie and I (Matt Barlow) would like to thank all of the folks that made the “Throne of Iniquity” EP come to life. It is our honor to have been able to work on two classic rock cover songs, from bands that helped shape music history. We are also very excited to give you a brand new AoA tune that will help introduce you to our next full length release under the amazing ROAR banner! Many thanks to all of the friends and fans who have supported our vision and our voice in the metal world!” – band comments
“Throne Of Iniquity” will be released through ROAR! Rock of Angels Records, physically and digitally worldwide on December 18, 2020.
Pre-order the album here:
Available on 300 copies limited handcrafted 12” black vinyl & Digital streaming/download format.
1. Throne of Iniquity
(Barlow/Vidales, Copyright 2020 My Hell Music, LLC)
1. 25 or 6 to 4
(Robert Lamm, Chicago, Copyright 1970, Columbia Records)
2. Dust in the Wind
(Kerry Livgren, Kansas, Copyright 1977, CBS Records)
Ashes Of Ares is:
Matt Barlow – Vocals
Freddie Vidales – Guitars, Bass
Drums recorded by Kyle Taylor
Acoustic guitars for Dust in the Wind recorded by Ray Hunter

Thank you AZ and CA!!!

Apr 13, 2019

We would like to thank all the wonderful people that came to see us over the past few days. It was our sincere pleasure to perform for you, and we had a great time meeting and hanging out with all of you. Special thanks to Helsott for being such fun and cool dudes to share a stage with. Extra special thanks to Tony at Mosh Pit Army for stepping up to make this happen at a moment’s notice. Extra, extra special thanks to Charlie, Kelly and Kyle for putting in the work behind the scenes to learn the much longer setlist and bringing it to life with us. We are working on some more things and will definitely make it no secret once everything is confirmed. We appreciate all the requests to play in your cities. The best way to make it happen is to contact your local show promoters and let them know you want to see us play near you. The more people that contact them, the better the chances of us being able to visit. Thanks again everyone!!!

Las Vegas show has been cancelled

Mar 30, 2019

Our show scheduled for Friday April 5th, 2019 has been cancelled.  We understand the venue itself has been shut down, so it was completely out of the control of ourselves, our booking agent and the local promoter.

West Coast Souls – 3 shows in the Southwest USA

Mar 18, 2019

Come out and see us for some rare shows in the Southwest!  Ticket links are:

Thursday, 4/4/19 Phoenix, AZ
Ticket link:

Visit our webstores

USA only webstore

Outside the USA webstore